Join a FREE Event!

Join Our Public Events!

We run a number of events every month for the public to spread our love of the liberal arts! Choose an event you are interested in below:

BOOK CLUB

Join Us!

CONTEST

Learn More!

DEMO DAY

Register!

WORKSHOPS

Reserve a Spot!

EWC BOOK CLUB ... NOW OPEN TO PUBLIC!

Our mission for the Book Club is:

  • To increase awareness of great AND diverse literature
  • To inspire our students to enjoy reading
  • To encourage our students to question and engage

Please find the reading list in the document below! You can also find presentations and discussion questions from our prior book clubs below as well.

Join Our Book Club!

2nd and 4th Sunday of every month
7pm ET (6pm CT/ 5pm PT)

Location: Zoom (Register for Link)

Register Here!

WRITING CONTEST: "Dreams of My Parents"

This Spring, Calvin J. Li Memorial Foundation, in collaboration with the Eyre Writing Center and the United Chinese Americans (UCA), is proudly announcing the holding of an Essay Contest entitled “Dreams of My Parents” to address the struggle with identity issues which so many children from families of Asian-Pacific backgrounds have been experiencing, in the hopes of initiating an intergenerational dialogue and cultivating the understanding of heritage and  identity. 

The Calvin J. Li Memorial Foundation was established in 2015 by the Li family to honor their son who shared such a struggle. The mission of the Foundation is to raise awareness of this issue, bridge the cultural gap between the immigrant parents and their American-born children, and promote a more supportive social and familiar environment for our children.

Awards for the Winning Essays

We will award the top 6 essays:

First Place: 1 essay - $1,000

Second Place: 2 essays - $500

Third Place: 3 essays - $250

Honorable Mention: 5 essays - $100

Contest Homepage
Read the Full Prompt
SUBMIT HERE!

Want to Learn More about EWC?

Sign Up for a Demo Day!

Demo Day

January 22, 2022
3pm ET (2pm CT/ 12pm PT)

Location: Zoom (Register for Link)

Reserve Your Spot

Demo Day

January 29, 2022
3pm ET (2pm CT/ 12pm PT)

Location: Zoom (Register for Link)

Reserve Your Spot

EWJ Info Session

April 8, 2022
8pm ET (7pm CT/ 5pm PT)

Location: Zoom (Register for Link)

Reserve Your Spot

WORKSHOPS

Houston: College Essay Event

January 30, 2022
8pm ET (7pm CT/ 5pm PT)

Location: Zoom (Register for Link)

Reserve Your Spot

Take Our Assessment!

Find out which course you should take below!

Take Our Diagnostic!